Florida has become the first state to allow birth certificates for miscarriages. Governor Rick Scott signed H.B. 1, otherwise known as the “Grieving Families Act.”
This is for miscarriages that occur between 9 weeks and 20 weeks of pregnancy. The state already has a law the allows birth certificates and requires death certificates for fetuses that are further than 20 weeks along in gestation.
Republican Rep. Bob Cortes, sponsor of the bill, said:
“It’s not something that’s being mandated. It’s not required for everybody to do. We’re not defining life.”
This is the latest development in the long history of the “personhood” movement. This movement sets out to define when life starts by treating an unborn fetus as a person. It began as soon as abortion was legalized by the Supreme Court case, Roe v. Wade, in 1973.
Various states have passed laws giving rights to unborn fetuses. Mississippi went so far as to give fetuses full legal rights from the moment they are fertilized. Several states have passed laws allowing mothers to be charged with child endangerment for taking drugs while pregnant.
In 2014, the Georgia National Personhood Movement was formed. It’s mission is:
“The Fundamental Purpose Of Georgia Right To Life Is To Engage In Actions That Will Restore Respect And Effective Legal Protection For All Innocent Human Beings From Earliest Biological Beginning Until Natural Death.”
“The aim of Georgia Right to Life (GRTL) is to communicate that a human person is sacred by virtue of the fact that we are created in the image of a personal benevolent God. This means that all human life must be respected and protected regardless of race, sex, age or condition of dependency. We seek to educate our grassroots pro-life community, to inform government officials of pro-life policy and to provide resources to other non-governmental organizations regarding ‘What is a person?'”
Featured image via YouTube screenshot.