A new law in Arkansas allows the father of a baby to say no to an abortion.
The new law, Arkansas Act 45, Arkansas Gov. Asa Hutchinson, passed a law making the dilation and evacuation procedure illegal.
Dilation and evacuation (D&E) is the most common method of performing abortions during the second trimester. It involves dilating the cervix and evacuating the womb. This procedure is used for abortions in the second and third trimesters.
This restriction effectively blocks abortions after 14 weeks, and the current federal ban is set at 20 weeks. It also doesn’t have any exceptions for rape or incest.
Laura McQuade, president and CEO of Planned Parenthood Great Plains, said:
“The D&E method is the most common method of second-trimester abortion in the United States and in the world. It is the method endorsed by the World Health Organization, the American College of Obstetrics and Gynecology, and the American Medical Association.”
That is not the worst part of the bill. There is another clause the allows the woman’s partner or spouse to sue the state over abortion procedures. It allows anyone who is the father of the baby to sue.
Should a rapist have parental rights for their child? Should a father who raped his daughter have parental rights? Fuck no! This is insane and unconstitutional.
Featured image via Public Domain.